The OpenScience Laboratory

Left to Right: Jack Dee (Awards event host), Kat Garrow, Nicholas Braithwaite, Stephen Swithenby, Martyn Harrow (Chief executive, Jisc, the sponsors of this award)


The report of Jisc blogger Martin Hamilton is here 

You can see the trophy up close by clicking the VIEW OBJECT link in the virtual microscope collection

Click the image above to read the award nomination.

Core team

Co-Directors: Prof Nicholas Braithwaite & Prof Stephen Swithenby

Project Managers: Dr Kat Garrow & Dr James Smith

Production Coordinators: Brian Richardson & Joe Mills

Project support: Tracy Bartlett & Beverly Casling

Academic Investigators/Project Leaders

Dept. Earth, Environment & Ecosystems:  Dr Tom Argles, Dr Angela Coe, Dr Sarah Davies,

Prof Nigel Harris, Prof Simon Kelley, Prof Jonathan Silvertown

Dept. Physical Sciences: Dr Silvia Bergamini, Dr Jim Hague, Prof Bob Lambourne, Dr Chris Barrett, Dr Paul Hatherly, Dr Ulrich Kolb, Prof Glenn White

Dept. Life, Health & Chemical Sciences: Prof David Male, Dr Eleanor Crabb, Dr Vicky Taylor, Dr Mark Hirst

Dept. Computing: Dr Shailey Minocha, Prof Marian Petre

Knowledge Media Institute: Prof Stefan Rueger

Institute of Educational Technology: Dr Liz Fitzgerald, Prof Eileen Scanlon, Prof Mike Sharples,

Dr Will Woods

Research Fellows/Project Officers

Janice Ansine, Dr Eloy Villasclaras-Fernandez, Dr Mike Dodd, Rachel Ward

Research Students

Maria Aristeidou, Marcus Brodeur, Duygu Simsek

Software developers

Internal: Dr Greg Black, Dr Andy Sutton, Dr Will Rawes, Rob Barnes

External: +

Graphic Design

Sarah Crompton, Matthew Rigby-Burr, Sara Hack + Diane Mole


Sam Marshall, Bryan Waddington, Ian Cameron

Visit experiment
You are not signed in to this website. More facilities might be available if you sign in.